Arrested for DUI in Anaheim?
The Law Offices of Chad Maddox specializes in DUI defense in Orange County. We have been practicing only DUI law for over 14 years and hold the upper hand over any other criminal attorney in Orange County. Our focus is solely DUI driver license defense which can be seen in our successful case defenses over the past few years.
If we can give you one piece of advice it would be to take your Anaheim DUI arrest very seriously. If you have been arrested for DUI you need the most knowledgeable and professional legal representation available to you and we offer that at the Law Offices of Chad Maddox.
First Time Offenders
Most first offenders only spend a night in jail, the same day they were arrested. However, in some circumstances, a judge will sentence a first offender to additional days behind bars. If you were arrested for your first DUI you are facing:
- 3 to 5 years informal probation
- 0 – 6 months jail
- $390 – $1000 BASE FINE + PENALTY ASSESSMENT = $2000 minimum.
- DUI Classes
- License Suspension
- Additional DUI punishments (cal trans for example)
The above is only a guideline.
Unfortunately many factors contribute to whether or not you’ll have to serve jail time for a 1st DUI offense, for instance; BAC, accidents, injuries, property damage, judge, location, and any special circumstances involved in your arrest, all can play a part
Second or Multiple Offenses
Being charged with DUI for the 2nd, 3rd, or even 4th time is an extremely serious situation and can result in life altering penalties if you are convicted. Being convicted of multiple DUIs can result in mandatory jail time ranging from days, weeks, and months in jail. This is not including the thousands of dollars in fines and penalties you will be forced to pay as well.
DUI and Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)
All 50 United States have agreed upon the legal limit for BAC at 0.08%. This means when you have been pulled over the most alcohol that can be found in your blood is .08%. That is less than one percent. Any amount above .08% and you can be arrested for DUI, even if you do not feel impaired.
If you are a commercial driver, the limit may be lower, usually 0.04%.
The most common methods utilized to measure your BAC are:
- Breath Test
- Urine Sample
- Blood Sample
What if I was arrested for DUID?
Being under the influence of drugs when arrested presents a slightly different situation. In California it is a crime to drive under the influence of drugs as well as alcohol. California law defines “drugs” as substances that have the ability to affect your muscles, nervous system or brain. If arrested while under the influence of drugs you can be charged with DUID just as easily as DUI if you had drank alcohol.
First-time offenders can usually expect punishments similar to these:
- Three years of informal probation
- A driver’s license suspension of at least six months
- At least three months worth of driving while impaired education classes
- A minimum fine of $390
- Up to a maximum of six-months in county jail
Do I need an Anaheim DUI lawyer?
Yes, we highly recommend hiring a DUI lawyer if charged with DUI or DUID.
The minute you get arrested for DUI, the arresting police officers are forming a case against you. When searching for an Orange County DUI attorney, their reputation and experience should not be overlooked. You need an attorney who practices DUI defense and understands DUI law inside and out.
We acknowledge that no two DUI cases are the same, and that you are an individual who deserves unique representation, and that is what we bring to the table. At the Law Offices of Chad Maddox your needs and concerns are critical and that is why our staff looks closely at each case to ensures every client receives the absolute best defense possible.