Arrested for DUI in Santa Ana?
Don’t let a Santa Ana DUI charge be the end of your financial security, career, or personal freedom. If you have been charged with DUI you need to be represented by a DUI attorney who truly specializes in fighting DUIs. A drunk driving offense is a serious situation; in fact in California it is considered a criminal charge. Because of this, we highly recommend you take the time to educate yourself on the laws and punishments you may be facing when you begin your case.
With the proper legal representation:
Your DUI charges could be: reduced, postponed, or even dismissed!
1st DUI Charge
Many factors contribute to the fines and punishments handed out for a 1st DUI offense. For example, your blood alcohol content (BAC), severity of the accident, injuries, property damage, and location can all play a part in what penalties the court may hand down. An experienced Orange County DUI attorney understands the gravity of a DUI charge and can often get the charges dropped, reduced, or negotiated to lesser penalties depending on the situation of your case.
Common Penalties for a First DUI are as follows:
- 3 to 5 years of informal probation
- 0 – 6 months in Jail (depending on seriousness of case)
- Base Fines + Penalty Assessments = Around $2000 minimum to be paid
- Attendance at First Offender Program (FOP): Either 3, 6, or 9 Months
- Installation of Ignition Interlock Device for 5 months (depends on County arrested)
- 6-10 month license suspension (depending on seriousness of case)
Will I go to jail for my DUI arrest?
It depends on the circumstances of your arrest.
While no attorney can promise you “no jail-time” without first reviewing your case, there are general guidelines for each DUI charge. If there were any injuries, or perhaps a death, resulting from your DUI accident, you will be facing a felony DUI charge which carries severe punishments including time behind bars. In the worst case scenario surrounding your DUI arrest in Santa Ana, you may be facing up to six months in jail for your first DUI.
Luckily, in many first offense DUI cases with no aggravating factors, defendants working with attorney Chad Maddox receive little to no jail time. This is not to say every DUI case is the same. Each case must be evaluated individually to analyze all factors that could result in a person being sentenced to jail.
What is a Wet Reckless Charge?
In California, a “wet reckless” is a plea bargain that is offered when the prosecution feels their case against you is not as strong as they would like. Law enforcement officers cannot arrest you for wet reckless driving, but it may be offered as an alternative in court to an actual DUI charge. Many DUI attorneys will attempt to negotiate for plea bargains such as wet reckless if they feel they can not get their client’s case completely dismissed.
In general, a wet reckless charge on your record is less damaging than a DUI charge.
Can I get help today?
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI in Santa Ana, you want an experienced DUI attorney on your side. Chad Maddox has been exclusively practicing DUI defense for more than 14 years. This means Mr. Maddox knows the laws, judges, and prosecuting attorneys that will be involved in your case. Hire the DUI attorney who has experience fighting DUIs and hundreds of clients successfully represented. Even if your case can not be dismissed, DUI attorney Chad Maddox will fight to reduce your fines, keep your license in your hands, and you out of jail.